One Happy Couple On A World Adventure

Archive for April 24, 2011

If It Gets You Drunk…

Wine. It’s a little overwhelming, isn’t it? At this stage in my life, I’m still happy to get the cork out of the bottle withoutthe little floatys in my glass. Hell, I still get a thrill when I peel back the thin metal wrap at the top of the bottle and discover that isn’t a screw top!

One of our big goals for this trip was to learn a little more about wine. We are in France after all. There are about as many vineyards as people in Provence, but it’s a little early for tours in April. Our first visit to a vineyard had left us with a very distinguished “deer in headlights” look (We had just seen a mummified Nun entombed in a large glass case, but I’ll save that for another post). Our workaway host, Pamela, suggested that we take a walk up the road to Domaine de Valcolombe. A local vineyard run by a man, she couldn’t recall his name, who may or may not speak English (fingers crossed). Luckily, (more…)